Statistical Mechanics

A conference in honour of the
75th birthday of Oliver Penrose

24 & 25 June 2004, Edinburgh

Home Page | Conference Arrangements | Scientific Programme and Participants

Scientific Programme and Participants

For list of participants click here. | Photographs

Provisional timetable

Thursday 24 June
Joel Lebowitz
Entropy and the time evolution of macroscopic systems
11.00-11.30 Coffee
Balint Toth
Hydrodynamics limit for two-component systems
Lunch break
14.30-15.30 Mathew Penrose
Random sequential deposition in discrete spaces
16.00-17.00 Roger Penrose
On the cosmological origin of the second law
17.30-19.00 Reception

Return to the top of the page | Participants list |

Friday 25 June
John Ball
Compatibility and phase nucleation
11.00-11.30 Coffee
Jack Carr
Becker-Doring equations
Lunch break
14.30-15.30 Peter Fratzl
Pattern formation in materials under the influence of mechanical loads
16.00-17.00 Herbert Spohn
The 3D Ising droplet at low temperatures and nonintersecting line ensembles

Return to the top of the page

Expected Participants

21 June 2004

Name Institution
Abraham, Eitan Heriot-Watt University
Ball, John University of Oxford
Biryuk, Andrei Fields Institute (visiting)
Carr, Jack Heriot-Watt University
Catarino, Nuno Heirot-Watt University
Davies, Penny University of Strathclyde
Duncan, Dugald Heriot-Watt University
Eilbeck, Chris Heriot-Watt University
Elton, Daniel Heriot-Watt University
Fratzl, Peter Max Planck Institute
Grinfeld, Michael Strathclyde University
Gyongy, Istvan Edinburgh University
Johnston, Des Heriot-Watt University
Knops, Robin Heriot-Watt University
Korff, Christian University of Edinburgh
Kuksin, Sergei Heriot-Watt University
Lacey, Andrew Heriot-Watt University
Landsberg, Peter Univeristy of Southampton
Lebowitz, Joel Rutgers University
Lord, Gabriel J Heriot-Watt University
Mottram, Nigel University of Strathclyde
Neilson, Matt University of Strathclyde
Penrose, Roger University of Oxford
Penrose, Oliver Heriot-Watt University
Penrose, Mathew University of Bath
Schroers, Bernd Heriot-Watt University
Slingerland, Joost Heriot-Watt University
Spohn, Herbert TU München
Szabo, Richard Heriot-Watt University
Temperley, Neville  
Tóth, Bálint Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Weston, Robert Heriot Watt University

Return to the top of the page

Home Page | Conference Arrangements | Scientific Programme and Participants
Back to ICMS Website