Entrance hall of the ICMS Workshop

Joint meeting of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society and Societat Catalana de Matemàtiques

Sep 27, 2017 - Sep 29, 2017

ICMS, 15 South College Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9AA


Name Institution
Barrenechea, Gabriel University of Strathclyde
Farkas, Jozsef University of Stirling
Gimperlein, Heiko Heriot-Watt University
Jarque, Xavier Universitat de Barcelona
White, Stuart University of Glasgow

Scientific committee:
Ernesto Estrada (University of Strathclyde)
Joan Sola Morales (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya)
Carles Rovira (Universitat de Barcelona)
Agata Smoktunowicz (University of Edinburgh)
Nuria Vila (Universitat de Barcelona)

This joint meeting of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society (www.ems.ac.uk) and the Societat Catalana de Matemàtiques (http://blogs.iec.cat/scm) will take place at ICMS, 15 South College Street, Edinburgh, from 27-29 September 2017.  

Public lecturer:
Alex Arenas (Universidad Rovira i Virgili)

Plenary lecturers:
Pere Ara (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
Marta Casanelles (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya)
Natalia Castellana (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
Ernesto Estrada (University of Strathclyde)
Xiaoyu Luo (University of Glasgow)
Stefaan Vaes (KU Leuven)

Mini-workshops (2 x 2h each):

Algebra and Applications
Organisers: Ferran Cedo (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona) and Agata Smoktunowicz (University of Edinburgh)

Differential Equations and Applications
Organisers: Angel Calsina (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona) and József Farkas (University of Stirling)

Geometric Group Theory
Organisers: Laura Ciobanu (Heriot-Watt University), Colva Roney-Dougal (University of St Andrews) and Enric Ventura (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya)

Geometry and Physics
Organisers: Michael Atiyah (University of Edinburgh) and Sebastia Xambo (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya)

Industrial Mathematics
Organisers: Andrew Lacey (Heriot-Watt University) and Tim Myers (CRM, Barcelona)

Mathematical and Computational Analysis of Networks
Organisers: Ernesto Estrada and Phil Knight (University of Strathclyde) and Alex Arenas (Universidad Rovira i Virgili)

Operator Algebras
Organisers: Francesc Perera (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona) and Aaron Tikuisis (University of Aberdeen)

Organisers: Istvan Gyongy (University of Edinburgh) and Marta Sanz-Sole (Universitat de Barcelona)

Organisers: Mark Grant (University of Aberdeen) and Wolfgang Pitsch (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)

The meeting is open to all interested participants, and there is a poster session to which everybody is invited to contribute.

We particularly invite PhD students and postdocs to participate and propose a short talk for a dedicated mini-workshop. A call for abstracts will open in 2017.


We are grateful for the financial support from the Glasgow Mathematical Journal Learning and Research Support Fund.




The workshop will be held at ICMS, 15 South College Street, Edinburgh. 

UK Visas
If you are travelling from overseas you may require an entry visa. A European visa does not guarantee entry to the UK. Please use this link to the UK Visas site to find out if you need a visa and if so how to apply for one. 

Information about travel to the UK and Edinburgh is available here.

Please note that it is your responsibility to have adequate travel insurance to cover medical and other emergencies (volcanic ash disruptions) that may occur on your trip.

A taxi directly from the airport will cost approximately 20.00 to 25.00 GBP to the city centre for a one-way journey.     There is also a bus service direct from the airport to the city centre which will cost 4.50 GBP single or 7.50 GBP return - the Airlink 100.  This is a frequent service (every 10 minutes during peak times) and will bring you close to Waverley Railway Station, only a short walk to the accommodation and the workshop venue (see map in 'Venue' section above). 

Lothian buses charge £1.60 for a single, £4.00 for a day ticket. Please note that the exact fare is required and no change is given.

If travelling by train, please note that Edinburgh has several railway stations - Waverley Railway Station being the main station and closest to the workshop venue at 15 South College Street.  If you alight at Edinburgh Waverley, the workshop venue is an easy 10 minute walk over North and South Bridge. The second large railway station is called Haymarket and is at the West End of the city centre.    Please be aware that there is also an Edinburgh Park railway station but this is at the west side of the city some way from the city centre.  For ICMS, use Edinburgh Waverley.



To be announced