Entrance hall of the ICMS Workshop

Fox Prize Meeting 2013

Jun 24, 2013

ICMS, 15 South College Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9AA


The IMA Leslie Fox Prize is a prestigious international prize which honours “young numerical analysts worldwide”.  The award is based on a submitted paper and a lecture. The Prize was set up in 1985 to honour Professor Leslie Fox, who founded the Oxford University Computing Laboratory in 1957 and was the Professor of Numerical Analysis at Oxford from 1963 to 1983.

On Monday 24th June 2013, the Leslie Fox Prize Meeting will be held at ICMS, Edinburgh.  At the meeting the 6 short-listed finalists will present their papers (see Programme) followed by announcement of the prize winner.

The Fox Prize is supported financially by the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA).  The 2013 Fox Prize Meeting is supported financially by the Centre for Numerical Algorithms and Intelligent Software (NAIS). 

There is no fee charged to those wishing to attend the meeting.  However, the number of places is limited and available on a 'first come, first served' basis.  Please complete the Application form
to reserve a place.

Any questions please contact Dawn Wasley via email (Dawn.Wasley@icms.org.uk)




Venue:  ICMS, Edinburgh

Date:    Monday 24th June 2013

Time:    09:00-16:30








Mark Ainsworth(Brown University, Chair of Adjudicating Panel)
Opening Remarks


Ingrid von Glehn (University of Oxford)
An embedded method-of-lines approach to solving partial differential equations on surfaces


Georges Klein (University of Fribourg)
An extension of the Floater-Hormann family of barycentric rational interpolants




Michael Neilan (University of Pittsburgh)
Conforming and divergence-free Stokes elements on general triangular meshes


Martin Takáč (University of Edinburgh)
Parallel coordinate descent methods for big data optimization




Alex Townsend (University of Oxford)
A fast and well-conditioned spectral method


André Uschmajew (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL))
Local convergence of the alternating least squares algorithm for canonical tensor approximation


Extended Coffee Break & Adjudicating Panel Convenes


Announcement of Prizes




Name Institution
Ainsworth, Mark Brown University
Banjai, Lehel Heriot-Watt University
Barrenechea, Gabriel University of Strathclyde
Buke, Burak The University of Edinburgh
Cartis, Coralia University of Oxford
Duncan, Dugald Heriot-Watt University
England, Roland Retired (formerly at The Open University)
Fowkes, Jaroslav University of Edinburgh
Gould, Nick STFC-Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
Hall, Julian University of Edinburgh
Kershaw, Donald Retired Reader University of Lancaster
Klein, Georges University of Oxford
Neilan, Michael University of Pittsburgh
Powell, Michael J D Retired
Richtarik, Peter U of Edinburgh
Shang, Xiaocheng University of Edinburgh
Takac, Martin The University of Edinburgh
Tanner, Jared University of Oxford
Tappenden, Rachael University of Edinburgh
Townsend, Alex Oxford University
Uschmajew, Andre EPF Lausanne
von Glehn, Ingrid University of Oxford
Wathen, Andy Oxford University, UK
Yan, Yiming The University of Edinburgh